9.4.2019 Awards Committee Meeting Minutes

In Attendance: Ray Bower, Julie Brunault, Howie Chandler, Josh Esty, Sara Lewko, Julie Libby, Toni Pappas, Debra Shackett, Kevin St. James, Chuck Weed of the Awards Committee; Danielle Duchesne and Kate Horgan of the Dupont Group.

I. Call to order

a. Weed calls the meeting to order finding a quorum fit to conduct business.

II. Approval of past meeting minutes

a. Weed presents minutes from May 10, 2019. Pappas makes a MOTION to approve the minutes. Chandler SECONDS the MOTION. All vote to APPROVE the MOTION with three abstentions: Brunault, Esty, and Shackett.

III. Review of process

- a. The Committee discusses the need to differentiate between late attachments to ontime nominations versus late nominations. Attachments will be accepted.
- b. Discussion of post-deadline submissions. The Committee agrees that late submissions will not be accepted.
- c. The Committee discusses the filling of unfilled award categories. The Committee agrees there will be no nominations for awards made by the Committee to fill unnominated awards categories.
- d. The Committee discusses the need for seconders as art of each nomination submission. It is agreed that it is the duty of the Committee to track down a seconder if there is not one.
- e. The process for future awards nominations processes is discussed. The Award Committee members will collect nominations from their respective county and submit the them via Survey Monkey. Only Awards Committee members will have access to the submission link.
- f. Regarding the Legislator of the Year award, the Committee agrees that the number of recipients is flexible.

IV. Review of nominations

- a. St. James makes a MOTION to accept the nominations of Wanda Eckhoff of Carroll County, Corey Plamondon of Merrimack County, and Charles Brookens of Sullivan County as County Corrections Employee of the Year. Lewko SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES unanimously.
- b. Lewko makes a MOTION to accept the nominations of Jamie Ellsworth of Belknap County, David Colcord of Merrimack County, and Marilyn Schreiber of Rockingham County for County Employee of the Year. St. James SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES but for one opposition by Weed.
- c. Bower makes a **MOTION** to accept the nominations of Diane Emerson of Carroll County, Sabryna Priest of Cheshire County, Joanne Parent of Coos County, Mariah Johnson of Grafton County, Kathy Holt of Hillsborough County, Mary Heath of Merrimack County, Bonnie Martin of Rockingham County, Regina Smith of Strafford County, and Beth

- Renkowksy of Sullivan County. Libby **SECONDS** the **MOTION**. The **MOTION PASSES** unanimously.
- d. St. James makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of Gisele Rondeau of Carroll County for Register of Deeds Employee of the Year. Shackett SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES unanimously.
- e. There is a **MOTION** to accept the nomination of Brendan Merchant as Sherriff of the Year. The **MOTION PASSES** unanimously.
- f. Bower makes a **MOTION** to accept the nomination of Michael Flemming for the Edna McKenna Public Service Award. St. James **SECONDS** the **MOTION**. The **MOTION PASSES** unanimously.
- g. Weed makes a MOTION to accept the nominations of Senator Lou D'Allessandro and Representative Mary Jane Wallner for State Legislator of the Year. Pappas SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES but for one dissention by St. James on the basis that the the directions to nominate were unclear regarding the number of recipients for the award.
- h. Shackett makes a **MOTION** accept the nomination of Cheshire County for the County Team Award. Lewko **SECONDS** the **MOTION**. The **MOTION PASSES** unanimously.
- Lewko makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of Karen Clough of Grafton County for Human Resources Administrator of the Year. St. James SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES unanimously.
- j. St. James makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of Craig Labore of Grafton County for Nursing Home Administrator of the Year. Chandler SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES unanimously.
- k. St. James makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of Dave Barry of Sullivan County for Corrections Superintendent of the Year. Lewko SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES but for one dissention by Weed.
- Bower makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of Janet Gibson of Sullivan County for the Register of Deeds Elected Official of the Year. St. James SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES but for one dissention from Chandler.
- m. Lewko makes a MOTION to accept the nomination of George Hebert for County Commissioner of the Year. Weed SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES but for one abstention by St. James.

V. Awards items

a. Wooden plaques for everyone but for the crystal awards for public service awards.

VI. Other business

- a. Duchesne to send the list of all awards recipients to the Awards Committee for Committee members to contact those from their counties before September 16, 2019.
- b. Thomas Tombarello to alert the legislators of their award.

VII. Next meeting:

- a. The Awards Committee will meet at 3:00 PM on Oct. 15.
- b. Duchesne to create draft of changes for future awards process.

VIII. Adjournment

a. St. James makes a MOTION to adjourn the meeting. Bower SECONDS the MOTION. The MOTION PASSES unanimously.

Minutes prepared by Danielle Duchesne on 9.4.2019.

Minutes approved on: 10.16.2019